Something to get you out of bed in the morning?

It turns out that occasionally, just occasionally, there are compensations to getting up far too early in the morning and making your way to a roomful of students who may or may not like you and occasionally rant at you in German because what you’re saying doesn’t make sense.

Actually, writing that I suddenly became aware of a whole other compensation because I have just caught on to the fact that I’m waaaaay better at understanding student ranting than I was a few months ago.  I think that’s progress of sorts.  I’ll put it in my mental trophy cabinet alongside a 90 minute lesson with Sabine yesterday that no-one else turned up for, so we just conversed in Deutsch for the whole time and it was good.  Yup.

But anyway, back to the point.  Firstly it was a quite beautiful morning.  Cold, but sunny and clear.  So lovely in fact that I was kicking myself for the second time in 2 days for not having my camera with me (of the first time, more anon).  I should be more like this (see left).  Mini camera for daily camera, maxi camera for the weekends and exploring.

Secondly the tram came on time and the tram driver smiled at me, which is always a bonus.  Score one in the smile game.

And thirdly, there was a naked man standing on the fuse box just before the bridge.  Fully nakt, no word of a lie.  As you may know, I’m not at my sparkliest in the morning, so it took me a little while to figure out why people on one side of the road were whistling and catcalling, and people on the other side were taking pictures of a totally dull lamp post.

Wait a minute, refocus, there’s somebody standing on the…….ohhhhh, there’s somebody naked standing on the thingy (fuse box, whatever) next to the lamp post.  How exciting.  Oh look, he’s doing a dance.  Süss.  Honestly, I’ve never seen such a cheerfully naked man dancing on street furniture at 6.50 in the morning.  I truly hadn’t lived before I came here.

It was possibly even better than the Twickers streaker from the rugby 7s….

or no, maybe not, he is rather lovely and he did do a happy dance too.  Let’s call it even.

(image from http://sportsimagepro.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/streaker-on-the-pitch-one-for-the-girls/)

Leave a Reply

