A springy sun day

Have I mentioned that we’ve been having rather super (German pronunciation please, not jollyhockeysticks style) weather here in the last week?  Tis so.  Sunday was no exception so I decided to continue with my Berlin explorations by walking from my house to Sonja’s house for Sprachtandem and taking in the Volkspark Friedrichshain on my way.  It was an excellent decision. The first thing I saw when I went in was this bevvy of crocuses. Lovely.  Spring is definitely sproing.

The Volkspark Friedrichshain was the first public park in Berlin and it still retains a community feel with lots of runners, strolling couples and families with little kids running round causing havoc.  In short it felt homely and I enjoyed my meanders along it’s paths.  Then I got to the star attraction, the renowned Märchenbrunnen.  After a little while “reading” the notice I established that this means Fairytale Fountains, and that the complex I was about to enter was one of the biggest and most expensive of it’s time.  Here’s what it used to look like (so Wikipedia tells us)

Sadly it doesn’t have water in yet, so I’ll have to revisit later in the year, but since many of the stone figures have been replaced/restored it’s still really quite impressive.  Here are a few that took my fancy. Firstly, the turkey girl.  No idea what the story is…

Nextly, the turtles that sit on the edge of the water.  I think they’re my favourites.  Look at his face!  I did like the frogs that you can see in the background too, but I didn’t get close enough for portraits of them.

I also have this funny little guy with excellent glasses, seated on a maiden’s knee.  Again, I’m not sure what the story is but I loves it.

I may adopt the park as my running venue I think, there are some hills and some flat so I could mix things up a bit until I get back into the swing of things and can start putting in longer runs.  Watch this space to see if I keep my word!

Leave a Reply

