This painted city

Today I was out and about in Berlin a little bit because I had my first one-to-one lesson as a cover for another teacher.  I had to go out east through Charlottenburg, a direction I hadn’t taken before.  I forgot my book today and thought that I would regret it during all my s/u bahn journeys, but in fact I was very happy just to stare out of the window and see how the scenery changed.

As I watched the city go by, with deco buildings cheek-by-jowl against distinguished Altbau buildings and new ugly/brilliantly designed blocks, I realised something. It’s a very painted city.  Of course, I’ve already spent a lot of time snatching pictures of the graffiti and street art that’s plastered thickly across any number of likely and unlikely surfaces, but I hadn’t consciously notices how many of the buildings are painted up in colours too.  Ochre yellow is popular, but so are the blues and greens and even pinks of Bristol.  It suddenly clicked that this is one of the reasons I identify this city with Brizzle, even though previously I couldn’t perfectly explain it.

I don’t have any photos to exemplify this for you right now, but I’ll work on it.  In the meantime, I have a building that I found very funky, against a sadly grey sky.

and pollarded trees taking a starring role too

Anyway, the lesson went quite well, the student was very lovely and we had good chats about his work, London, Shanghai, village life, Berlin building sites and so on.  After I finished the lesson, I trotted down the stairs, only to be completely smitten by this chair.  It just begs to be added to my library (modern incarnation thereof) and curled up in with a suitable book, such as 1984 maybe.  I particularly love how the plant and the chair complement each other here.  If I could have sneaked them both out of the building and got them home, I think I’d have been tempted…

This clearly put me in the mood for appreciating orangeness in life.  It’s not normally one of my favoured colours, but when I went back down to the U7 (turquoise line) I was struck by this most excellent ceiling stair arrangement (apologies for the blurriness, it’s not too bright down there.

And now that my eyes were opened, I started paying attention to the walls of the platform itself – how I missed this tiling before I cannot imagine.

Nor was Willmersdorff to be outdone.  If anything I think it may be more splendid.

But that’s enough for now.  It’s suddenly become much later than planned as I’ve been chatting away to you lovely people, so I shall go to sleep and dream of perfect flapjacks.  Anon!

Leave a Reply

