Eingezogen

Here endeth the 2nd weekend of moving in Berlin.  Thanks once again are due to the strong arms and endless patience of the much tried LTN.  Not only did he help me carry everything across Berlin again (and somehow my meagre belongings keep growing into more bags but I don’t really have anything here, I just don’t understand it) but he also took me to IKEA, twice!    Honestly, this deserves a medal.  I am not good at IKEA.  It has many things that I’m not good with: a confusing layout with evil intent, too many people, too much choice.

I must say that he handled several potential nervous breakdowns with much aplomb and we managed to equip the new room with some stylish essentials so that I feel quite happy with what I’ve got, even if the bigness of the room is somewhat unfilled.  Maybe this is my year for minimalism.

In other news, I have more strange classes to look forward to for next week – some 1 on 1’s.  Alarming, but hopefully they’ll turn out to not be too scary.  I’m also going to get a haircut, finally!  That’s more money I don’t have, but since I look like a scarecrow with surprisingly long hair, I think it’s time for a tidy.

Plus, I’m looking forward to coming home and seeing everyone.  Really can’t wait!

And because I just read it, I need to quickly mention one blog I particularly enjoy following –  the Yarn Harlot.  There are many things to be said in this wonderful woman’s favour.

  1. Best blog name ever.  Harlot is a brilliant word, and yarn harlot just sums up so beautifully the wanton relationship addicts have with all things knit related.
  2. She knits ridiculously well.  For example, I’m not sure I’ll ever be able (skill/patience) to make socks as beautiful as these. (her picture right). Bear in mind that I’ve never made even a single sock and you begin to get the idea…
  3. I love the way she writes.  Even if I weren’t interested in her knitting skills I’d probably follow her anyway just because she’s so very entertaining, whether discussing triumphs or tribulations it’s always witty, gently poking fun at herself and her foibles…
  4. …she hoards, she starts too many projects at once, she gives herself impossible deadlines and is astounded if she meets them/not so much if not.  She seems to particularly enjoy making things for her family, but also has projects simply for the love of the wool/pattern/both.
  5. She reminds me of myself and my Mum for all those reasons.
  6. She always puts nice pictures of her projects into the blog, and it’s pretty inspiring.  I think I need to start planning my next project, somewhat limited by the fact that I only have the left over wool from LTN’s hat here, and the needles from the same project. Hmm…

tired now and must get up to lesson plan betimes in the morn.  Goodnight and sweet dreams x

Leave a Reply

