Footnotes on a day

I must confess that the last few days have not been the easiest.  Until Sunday I was going  a little bit crazy from flat hunting stress, missing home and everyone back in England, worrying about preparing for 9 (now 10!) lessons this week, und so weiter und so weiter.  To everyone who’s saved my sanity over the last few days, a massive thank you.  I couldn’t be doing this without you.

Today held all kinds of fears for me. It’s 2 years since Mum died, and it’s obviously been on my mind a lot. There’s so much that I want to tell her about everything going on here, and when I’m struggling with the differences of the distance from home, I want nothing more than to have a chat with her. I can’t imagine that feeling will ever go away, so I’m incredibly lucky that I’ve still got Pierre and Mantha to talk to, and all my friends.  My head is still all over the place, but I think it helps that I am quite busy getting used to teaching more often.  So, I’m not going to go on about it anymore but I’ll just show you some flowers for Mum.  They’re beautiful and they suit her.

And now, random notes from my day.

I had my first ever company class – teaching straight business English on the premises of a very powerful media and publishing firm. I was so scared.  But, the students were great, they are  incredibly interesting people – one in particular was a photo editor, and his department had just welcomed home 2 journalists who had been arrested and detained for months in Iran. Big stuff for a Tuesday morning. I was humbled.

The other big news of the day was that the German Defence Minister Guttenberg has resigned. Everyone has been talking about it, Guttenberg resigned because it was found out that much of his doctoral thesis was copied from other sources so, to quote the BBC “The plagiarism scandal led to him being nicknamed Baron Cut-and-Paste, Zu Copyberg and Zu Googleberg by the German media.”. Genius. Of course I deplore plagiarism, but ah, what a gift to the press.

Closer to home, it’s been said before but it’s a small world. I was chatting to one of the other teachers today and discovered that he comes from High Wycombe. It explains why his accent reminded me of home. Even more strangely though, he also went to Bristol Uni, although not at the exact same time, he’s a wee bit stranger. Now what are the chances, honestly? He hadn’t heard of Fingest though, we are that small.

Dydd Gwyl Dewi hapus! That’s happy St David’s day in Welsh. Daffodils all round. More about Wales? Thank you The Guardian…

And finally, Do svidaniya! I had a mini Russian lesson today from one of my students, it was fun. I know how to say my name, ask your name and say how nice it is to meet you, which has expanded my meagre collection of vodka based chat.

Leave a Reply

