Schnee!

So here and now endeth my first week in Berlin, city where jeden tag ist etwas los (everyday there’s something going on), as was I told by the 6 ft 4 ish man squeezed into the seat next to me on the plane.  I have to confess I haven’t seen much of the etwas, I’ve mostly seen the streets between ‘my’ flat and the language school. But today, today is a red letter day. Today brought my first Berlin Schneefall.  I had hoped that tomorrow I might wake and see a white city but it seems to be merely flirting with me, so probably not. Schade.

In the meantime, a night off from studying is a pleasure indeed. We scaled the dizzy heights of relaxation tonight with overly sweet Riesling, pizza and ice cream.  Actually we haven’t eaten the ice cream yet but the promise in the freezer is a treasure beyond price.  This was really our first proper flat social, Julia had a friend over and we all rambled inconsequentially and shared stupid comedy throught the medium of you tube.

As a result, here is a Tim Minchin beat poem suggested by Ellie for the random ranters amongst us (Li, I think you’ll like it, reminds me a little of watching Simon Armitage or those guys at the gallery in Shoreditch – what were their names?):

and so, Ich wünsche dir ein schönes Wochenende und süße Träume, bis bald. I’m not sure how it got to be 1.42am, I was supposed to be asleep 2 hours ago but now my lie in has been negated by my sit up and type nonsense. Ah well, another lesson learnt…

Leave a Reply

